

## **Board of Directors**

Officers

Jake Timm President Oshkosh Media

Lisa Wolf Vice-President Watertown Television

Dave Grooman Secretary Lake Mills Community & Government Television

Deb Brunett Treasurer Emeritus Member Merrill

Directors

Boyce Johnson Madison City Channel

Tom Loppnow City of Milwaukee

Tom Loucks Marshfield Media Access

Alan Luckett Janesville JATV

Will Nimmow Monona Community Media

Jeff Robbins Sun Prairie Media Center

Derek Westby WTCO Trempealeau

**Executive Director** 

Mary Cardona (608) 215-5594 exec@ wisconsincommunitymedia.com March 2, 2022

Vel Wiley Velw22@yahoo.com

Dear Vel,

It was so good to talk with you today!

I have the great pleasure to inform you that you have been chosen by the WCM Board of Directors to be the 2022 Inductee into the WCM Hall of Fame!

Each year, WCM recognizes and inducts one community media professional who has shown great leadership and devotion to the mission of public, education, and government access television -- *empowering people to create media for human purposes*.

You have shown that leadership and devotion to community media in your work in the Milwaukee area, but also on the state level, where you worked in opposition to a telecommunications bill in the 1990's, against state franchising in 2007, and served on the WCM Board of Directors from 2012-2014. You also gave your time and expertise on the national level, where you served on the Alliance for Community Media Board of Directors. Your career in PEG Media began in 1984. By 1991, you had been named executive director of MATA Community Media, then one of the largest public access media centers in the country. You shepherded MATA during its hay day and through its later years and closure after a state law ended dedicated PEG fees, cutting off MATA's primary source of revenue. Throughout, WCM has known you as a tireless advocate for community television.

We will be inducting you into the WCM Hall of Fame at the Best of the Midwest Media Fest Banquet and Show on Thursday, May 12 at the Park Hotel on the Capitol Square in Madison. We invite you and a guest to attend the reception at 5 pm, dinner at 6:30 pm followed by the Fest program, which will include your induction into the Hall of Fame. We hope you will share a few thoughts with us at that time.

Please contact me by Friday, May 6 to let me know whether you plan to come.

Again, a most hearty congratulations! I'm looking forward to seeing you!

Sincerely,

alona

Mary Cardona Executive Director

## WCM Hall of Fame Inductees

- 2008 Wade Britzius, Trempealeau County Community Television
- 2009 Judi Kneece, Janesville JATV
- 2010 Jon Urben, Oshkosh Community Media
- 2011 Pam Steitz, Sun Prairie Kids-4
- 2012 John Jordan, Wausau Area Access Channels
- 2013 Mary Shanahan-Spanic, West Allis Community Media Center
- 2014 Connie Darling, Fitchburg FACTv
- 2015 Mick Givens, Rice Lake Television
- 2016 Dan Kummer, Marshfield Community Television
- 2017 Bonnie Lundy, Fitchburg FACTv
- 2018 Liz Harlow, Oregon Cable Access Media
- 2019 Dawn Wills, River Falls Community Television
- 2020 Jim Walsh, River Cities Community Access (now WRCM)
- 2021 Mike Ryan, West Bend Community Television
- 2022 Vel Wiley, MATA Community Media, Milwaukee