

April 4, 2023 Contact: Mary Cardona exec@wisconsincommunitymedia.com

## **Board of Directors**

Officers

Jake Timm President Oshkosh Media

Lisa Wolf Vice-President Watertown Television

Dave Grooman
Secretary
Lake Mills Community &
Government Television

Deb Brunett Treasurer Emeritus Member Merrill

Directors

Kevin Bargender Trempealeau County

Boyce Johnson Madison City Channel

Tom Loucks Marshfield Media Access

Stephanie Miller City of McFarland WMCF

Will Nimmow
Monona Community Media

Jeff Robbins Sun Prairie Media Center

## **Executive Director**

Mary Cardona (608) 215-5594 exec@ wisconsincommunitymedia.com

## Wisconsin Community Media Announces the 2023 Best of the Midwest Media Fest Winners

The 2023 Best of the Midwest Media Fest, which celebrates local Public, Education, and Government (PEG) Access programming and Low-Power Community Radio programming has announced this year's slate of winners in the media contest. Top-scoring entries, Excellence and Achievement award winners, will be highlighted at the Best of the Midwest Media Fest Banquet and Show on Thursday evening, May 4, 2023 at the Park Hotel on the Square in Madison, Wisconsin. The event is open to the public. Tickets are \$50 and can be purchased through this webpage. https://wisconsincommunitymedia.com/fest-show-and-awards

The fest is also honoring this year's "Best In Show" entries in a variety of categories including Best Show produced by a College Student and Best Show produced by Seniors.

The Significant Community Program Award this year goes to a collaboration between Kenosha Community Media and the Kenosha History Center called, "Kenosha Voices." The oral history project has recorded the reminiscences of more than 60 Kenosha residents, who talk on camera about work, community businesses, and the arts.

The fest recognizes local programming produced by both professional and amateurs and provides producers with feedback on their work from a slate of four judges. This year, 56 judges drawn from professional media organizations, PEG media centers, and communities were involved in evaluating radio and video programs.

More than 200 entries were received in the fest this year from a nine-state region, which coincides with the boundaries of the Alliance for Community Media Midwest Region and includes Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

This year, 37 producer groups and media centers entered the fest. Excellence (Gold) awards were given to 41 programs, Achievement Awards (Silver) were given to 52 programs, and Merit Awards (Bronze) were given to 59 entries.

The full list of winners can be found here.