

Strong media centers. Strong communities.

Board of Directors

Officers

Jake Timm President Oshkosh Media

Jeff Robbins Vice-President Sun Prairie Media Center

Dave Grooman Secretary Lake Mills Community & Government Television

Deb Brunett Treasurer Emeritus Member – Merrill Productions

Directors

Boyce Johnson Madison City Channel

Tom Loppnow City of Milwaukee

Tom Loucks Marshfield Media Access

Alan Luckett Janesville JATV

Will Nimmow Monona Community Media

Andy Radig Oshkosh Media

Lisa Wolf City of Columbus Media

Executive Director

Mary Cardona (608) 215-5594 exec@ wisconsincommunitymedia.com

Mike Ryan

4216 W. Crystal Lake Road McHenry, IL 60050

Dear Mike,

WCM Hall of Fame Inductees

2008 Wade Britzius, Trempealeau County Community Television

2009 Judi Kneece, Janesville JATV

2010 Jon Urben, Oshkosh Community Media

2011 Pam Steitz, Sun Prairie Kids-4

2012 John Jordan, Wausau Area Access Channels

2013 Mary Shanahan-Spanic, West Allis Community Media Center

2014 Connie Darling, Fitchburg FACTv2015 Mick Givens, Rice Lake Television

2016 Dan Kummer, Marshfield Community Television

2017 Bonnie Lundy, Fitchburg FACTv

2018 Liz Harlow, Oregon Cable Access Media 2019 Dawn Wills, River Falls Community Television

2020 Jim Walsh, River Cities Community Access (now WRCM)

2021 Mike Ryan, West Bend Community Television

May 3, 2021

I have the great pleasure to inform you that you have been chosen by the WCM Board of Directors to be the 2021 Inductee into the WCM Hall of Fame! Each year, WCM recognizes and inducts one community media professional who has shown great leadership and devotion to the mission of public, education, and government access television -- "empowering people to create media for human purposes." You have shown that leadership and devotion to community media in both your Wisconsin hometown and on a statewide level.

WCM has known you as a tireless advocate for community television. We were the beneficiaries of your in-depth industry knowledge acquired over a thirty-year career – a career that began at a cable company-run public access center in Illinois in the 1980s. In 2006 you became director of West Bend Community Television where, according to John Ehlke, Production Manager, "Through countless meetings, late nights and events in the rain, Mike Ryan gave everything to our community so others could be heard." You transitioned the station from VHS to digital and became so well known in West Bend that turning to WBCTV became second nature to the area's non-profit organizations. In 2010 you were elected to the WCM Board of Directors. Over a seven-year period, you served as Secretary and left your mark in particular on our public policy efforts.

Today, the media center you led for twelve years is going strong. Certainly you can take credit for successfully training your successors to make WBCTV an integral part of community life by working hard and focusing on its local mission. "We're here to help them get their message out," you would often say to staff, and West Bend Community TV continues to do just that for the city, local businesses and area non-profits.

We will be inducting you into the WCM Hall of Fame at the Best of the Midwest Media Fest Show on **Thursday**, **May 27 at 7 pm** during our virtual live-streamed event. We hope you will be able to participate via Zoom to accept your award. Please contact me by Friday, May 14 to let me know whether you can participate that evening. Congratulations!

Sincerely,

Mary Cardona
Executive Director

Many Carlona