

## Strong media centers. Strong communities.

## **Board of Directors**

Officers

Jake Timm President Oshkosh Media

Jeff Robbins Vice-President Sun Prairie Media Center

Dave Grooman Secretary Lake Mills Community & Government Television

Deb Brunett Treasurer Emeritus Member – Merrill Productions

Directors

Boyce Johnson Madison City Channel

Tom Loppnow City of Milwaukee

Tom Loucks Marshfield Media Access

Alan Luckett Janesville JATV

Will Nimmow Monona Community Media

Andy Radig Oshkosh Media

Lisa Wolf City of Columbus Media

## **Executive Director**

Mary Cardona (608) 215-5594 exec@ wisconsincommunitymedia.com Mr. Joe Chase 923 Broadway Drive Sun Prairie, WI 53590

Dear Joe,

I have the great pleasure to inform you that the WCM Board of Directors has chosen Nancy Chase McMahon to receive the 2021 Friend of Access Award posthumously. The award reads, "In recognition of your leadership in developing the true democratic voice of the community – Public, Education, and Government Access Television." We feel privileged to recognize the inspiring early work of your second cousin with this award.

Nancy was a passionate believer in public access media and also had great concerns about media's influence on young people. As a board member of the National Telemedia Council, McMahon spearheaded what would become KIDS-4, a (still) unique television station for kids, by kids, at which kids create, produce, direct, and operate all equipment needed to mount television productions. Nancy was the first director of the Sun Prairie Cable Access, now known as the Sun Prairie Media Center, one of the most vibrant and active media centers in the state of Wisconsin. To all who knew and worked with Nancy, she was a strong, eloquent, and vocal defender and trailblazer in the worlds of media literacy and community media. As media is even more prevalent today, Nancy's vision of a city of media-wise consumers is more relevant today than ever. According to Jeff Robbins, director of Sun Prairie Media Center, the media center still today strives to meet and exceed the high standards that Nancy set.

We are honored to be in a position to recognize her contribution. Thank you for agreeing to accept the award on her behalf at the Best of the Midwest Media Fest Show on **Thursday**, **May 27 at 7 pm** during our virtual live-streamed event. I will be in touch to give you the link so that you can participate via Zoom to accept her award and say a few words.

Nancy is one of two people to receive the award this year. The other is Daryl Joten, a longtime volunteer at WTCO, the media center managed by the Tri-County Communications Cooperative in Whitehall, Wisconsin.

Sincerely,

Mary Cardona Executive Director

May 5, 2021